Gr8ful

I sit here typing and I’m thinking about how lucky I am to be sitting here typing this blog.

I mean really, how easy do I have it?

I get to write about my creative life and wax poetic (or not, depending on who you ask) on all my aspirations and experiences as a producer, writer and actress.

I have a desk, a window, a cushion on my chair. I have this lovely computer that I haven’t backed up in forever and is currently at 13% power. I should be nicer to it.

Over the past couple of weeks I have been attempting to manage my time better and fit in everything I have the passion to do. Often, I’ve harrumped (yes, that’s a word) and said things like “There’s not enough time in the day” or “Why am I so scattered?” or “I’m never going to be good at any one thing because I want to do everything!”

It’s all silliness really. A constant turntable in my head, quietly trying to sabotage my confidence and keeping me from stopping and giving thanks for the very fact that I’m able, in this country, to pursue ALL of my dreams, if I want to.

In light of the situation in Nigeria, I have to sit back and take a good long look at myself in the mirror and thank my lucky stars that I am safe. That I am educated. That I could choose my life partner. That I have a production company, that I’m writing a screenplay, that I can walk in to an audition room and play with great material.

I’m happy that my friends and colleagues and acquaintances and people I haven’t even met yet are able to pursue their dreams.

I’m glad  that I can say thank you. I should never underestimate that privilege. Because I’m able to live the life that’s best for me, I need to say thank you to those that make it happen. To those that will collaborate with me, who will read my script, who will watch my audition.

Heck, I’m jazzed that I can order a kick-butt latte at my neighborhood coffee shop. I have no counter space for a proper espresso machine, you see.

So, I propose that some of us (including me) remember that we are out there participating in this “business of show” because we WANT to, not because we HAVE to. That every day that we have the ability to create, visualize and daydream is a gift.

Simply thank those that support us, because they don’t have to. Give to others, even if you don’t have to. We are lucky. And I am grateful.

Leave a comment